Miracles Part Three

This study will focus on the miracles preformed by Jesus. I will cover  a few verses a day until I have gone through them all. You are invited to follow along and comment as you feel the need.

I begin this study with certain preconceived ideas on the subject of miracles.

1 Miracles are preformed for the benefit of the people who receive them.

2 Belief in the accomplishment of miracles is a significant contributor to their fulfillment. In other words if you don’t believe they won’t happen.

3 The purpose of miracles is to save the recipient from a situation where all know solutions have been exhausted.  In other words if your ill go to the doctor

As I go through this study I will keep these preconceived  ideas in mind to see if they hold water.

Matthew 8:5-13

5When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. 6“Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed and in terrible suffering.”

7Jesus said to him, “I will go and heal him.”

8The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. 9For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

10When Jesus heard this, he was astonished and said to those following him, “I tell you the truth, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith. 11I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven. 12But the subjects of the kingdom will be thrown outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

13Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! It will be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed at that very hour.

There is a so much in this healing.

The centurion recognized an attribute of Jesus that so few people, whether then or now recognize. The centurion recognizes ultimate authority. When he is explaining why Jesus did not have to come with him for the healing to occur he was in fact stating that Jesus had the authority to command illnesses to cease.

When he spoke about his authority he was discussing his right to command people to do his bidding. They in essence had not the ability or right to refuse him. He was there authority. He understood what authority was and how it was implemented. He understood that authority was granted by the government in power. Authority cannot be acquired in any other way. True authority is always granted it cannot be taken. The president is the president because he is granted that authority by us the people who voted for him. He could not take that position by force he can only be granted that position. Any authority on this planet is grant by the populace which supports it.

However who granted Jesus the authority to say “Go! It will be done just as you believed it would.”? We humanity did not. Up to this point in his ministry Jesus was relatively unknown.  We cannot say that the populace new or supported him. And if they, the populace did could the populace grant him the authority to say that? No. The entire world could have known of him and supported him and they could not provide him with the authority to say “Go! It will be done just as you believed it would.”

So where does the authority to say and do such a thing come from. It needs to come from someplace else. It cannot come from humanity because humanity is not the government in power. The government in power must be a government that exist in the realm of the disease. In other words the president cannot go to another country and tell them what to do. Because countries are countries because other world governments grant them the right of sovereignty. This right allows them to ignore what the president wants. Sovereignty says you have the right to determine your destiny.

The meaning of sovereign.

sov·er·eign

sovereign pronunciation1.

a monarch; a king, queen, or other supreme ruler.
2.

a person who has sovereign power or authority.
3.

a group or body of persons or a state having sovereign authority.

This  was Jesus and the centurion recognized it. The only one that Jesus could be granted this authority was from God the father and creator of the universe. Because he is the government in power over all things and he is the only one that could grant Jesus the power to say “Go! It will be done just as you believed it would.”

But what did the centurion believe.  Was it that Jesus could heal his servant or that he had the authority to command his healing? What he believed in was not only in Jesus’s ability to heal he believed in his authority to heal. He believed that Jesus had the sovereignty to heal he had the right to command the illness to cease. By believing in his authority, the healing became more a function of will than ability. The questions becomes Jesus are you willing.

When Jesus makes this statement, “I tell you the truth, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith”. What was he referring too? He was referring to the centurions understanding of his authority and sovereignty. The centurion got it he understood who Jesus was and he accepted him for who he was. He accepted that Jesus had the sovereignty and authority to command.

About Ruben

I am the owner of a custom furniture shop in Orlando, Florida. I had a heart attack back in 2010. As a result of complications from the heart attack I almost died . The road to recovery took about eighteen months and even now I still have issues to deal with. As a result of almost dying many things have changed. Most notably my concept of time. By that I mean that I am acutely aware of my mortality, not morbidly but realistically. Before the heart attack I thought I would make it to 70's, 80'S or as my mother into 90's but now I realize everyday is a gift. I don't take it for granted. That is why I write I have something to say and I want to say it, before I can't say it anymore.
This entry was posted in christian beliefs, Miracle, open heart surgery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miracles Part Three

  1. Miracles Part Three Glory great ideas for this world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

